Plans for the 4000km walk going well

Hi, thought you might like to know how plans for my 4000km Irish coastal walk for The Irish Cancer Society are going.

I’m all set for a soft launch on Monday 23rd May from Newquay (outside Linnane’s Lobster bar)

IMG_1764

I’ve an interview with ClareFM around 11.30a.m  so probably start at Newquay at 1.30p.m. Walking 16km via The Flaggy Shore to Ballyvaughan.

Hyland’s Burren Hotel in Ballyvaughan have kindly agreed to put me up and have the official launch on Tuesday 24th at 10.00am from their fine establishment. Thanks George.

hylands-burren-hotel-Hylands_Burren_Hotel-20150422-031

Hyland’s has a special significance as Noelle and myself spent a great weekend here with Michael and Breda for the inaugural Burren Walking Festival a few years ago. George tells me that the rooms have been totally refurbished and I can attest to the welcome being as warm as ever – so can’t wait.

Offers of accomodation have been steadily coming in. Apart from family, friends and aquaintances I’ve had offers from Dunmore East, Rosslare Harbour, Loop Head, Doolin, Wexford and Galway from people who don’t even know me! My Doolin offer even includes home cooking and an offer to pick me up and drop me off again.

I’ve got North Kerry fairly well pinnned down with the O’Connor clan and offers from friends in Fenit, Camp, Annascaul, Caherdaniel and beyond. I’ll put a fuller list up before I set out on the walk.

People have been exceedingly generous with their online donations to date. Much more so than I ever expected. The Irish Cancer society now have nearly €1100 online and €120 in cash and cheques. Many many thanks!

Email:             coastforcancer@gmail.com

Facebook:     https://www.facebook.com/CoastForCancer

Twitter:           @coastforcancer

Blog:               https://totalcoastforcancer.wordpress.com/

Donate at:      https://give.everydayhero.com/ie/coast-for-cancer

Leave a Reply

