Thanks to all those who provided accommodation and bag transportation for the first 750km.

Right now, I’m back home in Cratloe and thinking about the great places I’ve been and the wonderful people I’ve met over the last 5 1/2 weeks. The walk has covered just over 750kms so far taking me from The Clare/Galway border, all the way around the coast of Clare and Kerry as far as Bantry in West Cork. All was made possible by the support of the generous people who provided a place for me to sleep and who organised accommodation and transportation for my baggage. Thanks to all the following:
George Quinn, Hylands Burren Hotel,  Ballyvaughan.
Emer, Paul, Ciara and Orlaith Bowen, Doolin
Padraig and Helena Malone, Cratloe for accommodation in Spanish Point (and to The Armada Hotel for providing breakfasts on three mornings – John Junior, Marion and Majella)
The Management, The Kilkee Bay Hotel (and Nuala, Doonbeg who organised it)
Ian and Teresa at The Old School B&B, Cross, Loop Head ( and Liz & Ailish, Kilbaha Gallery who helped organise it & Michelle for support)
Gerard & Maria Geoghegan of The Magpie Bar, Glin
Denise & Tom Stack, Ballybunion (and John & Aileen Wren for extra support)
Roisin, Tom and Susie Rice, Abbeydorney
Breda O’Regan, Sarah & Brian, Fenit (Also extra emergency support from Dr Tommy O’Regan, Spa, Tralee)
Siobhan & Matthew White and John & Margaret O’Shea for the use of their mobile in Camp
Tom Curran, Wine Strand, Ballyferriter (and Sinead for the contact)
Rosemary Shinkwin, Dunquin (and Lindy and Kate for the contact)
Anne Marie & Michael O’Shea, Dingle (and Siobhan White for arranging the contact)
Pat, Maura and Roisin O’Shea, Cromane (and Roisin Rice who arranged the contact)
Gerard & Mary Anne, ‘Casur’ O’Sullivan, Laharan South, Cahersiveen
Ida & Doc, Caherdaniel
Neil & Ali, Templenoe
Fiona & Colm Brosnan, Tuosist (and Pat & Helen)
Ann Maria, The Village Inn, Ardgroom
John Murphy, Murphy’s restaurant and B & B, Castletownbere
Sheila (who supported me throughout The Beara Peninsula) & Kevin Jer O’Sullivan, Glengarriff (contact again arranged by my neighbour Siobhan).l
Hope I haven’t left anyone out – apologies if I did.
There were also many other people who offered me support on the road by way of a kind word, water, a cup of coffee, a snack or even a meal. Please be assured that your support was much appreciated and greatly assisted and eased my journey. Sincere thanks to you all. I hope I meet such generous people on my next 750km which I’ll start in Bantry towards the end of July.
Marty

Leave a Reply

