A great last week of the walk. (Blog link).

The coastal walk finished, for this year, at around 7.30 pm on the 17th September, between Omeath and Newry. At that point, I  crossed into Co Down, where I will resume in the Spring ( n.b. Next year, while in the 6 counties, I’ll be fundraising for The Cancer Centre, Belfast).

So far, I have walked approximately 1800 km and raised in the region of €31,000 for The Irish Cancer Society. I’m delighted with that. A huge thank you to all who contributed either online, personally or en route as I cajoled and pestered you with my fundraising efforts.

For those of you who have been meaning to, donations are still being gratefully accepted on line at:

https://give.everydayhero.com/ie/coast-for-cancer

image
Good coverage of the walk on local radio and in The Dundalk Argus

The last 7 days of the Coast For Cancer coastal walk took me from Dalkey, Co. Dublin to the  border with Co. Down, via Howth Head, Skerries, Dundalk and the Carlingford Peninsula. Wonderful walking terrain apart from a scary stretch of dual carriageway near Swords. As you’ll see from the log below, a fair number of kilometres covered each day. In fact, an average of approximately 29kms (18miles) per day, with the last day being over 35km – this was the stretch around the Carlingford peninsula up to The Border between Omeath and Newry.

I wanted to get the last few kilometres completed before dusk as this is a fast and dangerous stretch of road. The second table shows some of the split times for my walk, minute by minute. I hit a walking speed equivalent to approximately 1 km per 8 minutes which isn’t bad after 1800 kms! My usual speed is about 12 minutes to the km which is greatly reduced when I’m in photographing mode or fundraising or simply chatting to people encountered along the way.image

 

 

image

 

 

image

Thanks for all the support, encouragement and generosity!

Marty

Leave a Reply

