Thanks to all who supported me from Donegal to Galway.

The following people made my walk from Donegal back to County Clare possible through their generous hospitality and taking time to support me in many different ways, sourcing accommodation, organising transportation of baggage, ferrying me to   my starting points and picking me up at the end of the day.

My Cratloe neighbour Willie McGonagle’s family in Burnfoot and Buncrana: Catherine McGonagle collected me off the bus in Derry and acted as coordinator of my walk around much of Inishowen; Hugh & Edel McGonagle and son Daniel in Burnfoot put me up; Peter and Gerry provided transportation; Catherine, Lily and Grace gave me their lovely company while walking; Mrs Mary McGonagle offered the hospitality of the family home; Grace’s sisters Aisling and Beth came around to offer their support.

In north Inishowen, Fiona and Liam McCarron, Drumfree, took charge and provided wonderful hospitality, logistical support and company en route. Great interest and encouragement from Abaigh and Lorcan.

Anne and Bert Campbell responded positively to my plea for accommodation and made me most welcome in their charming #ArdeenGuestHouse, Ramelton.

Helen and Sean heard about my journey on local radio and offered me novel accommodation in a very comfortable yurt at their #PortsalonLuxuryCamping. It’s normally self-catering but Helen and Sean included me for dinner and breakfast. Thanks also for transportation of luggage.

Rachel McAteer heard about me through FaceBook and invited me to stay at her parents’, Brendan and Brids’, beautifully positioned #FanadLodge. Extremely hospitable hosts. A warm welcome was also extended to Noelle when she came up to join me for a few days.

Was delighted to accept, my pal from schooldays, Sam Webb’s offer of accommodation in his brother-in-laws place in Carrickart. Many thanks Liam & Anne and Sam from Noelle and myself. Great to meet up with you again Sam after so many years.

Hilary and James Carlisle from Belfast have a beautiful holiday home in Ards near Creeslough. They gave Noelle and myself the use of it during that stage of the journey. Thanks for your hospitality, transportation support and Hilary for your company on the walk. Yet again, Margo Fitzgerald set this all up through her friendship with Hilary and James.

The management team of Orla O’Grady and Sean McIlwee, at the #LochAltanHotel , Gortahork provided us with excellent accommodation for the stages from Dunfanaghy through to Bunbeg. Mary Anne sourced accommodation in Dunglow and Liam transported myself back to Bunbeg and my bag on to Dunglow.

There’s a stunning view of Dunglow bay at sunset from the front of the recently refurbished and modern #WaterfrontHotel Dunglow. Made very welcome by  Joseph, Alanna, Elise and all the staff.

Evelyn & Tony Kitterick and their children Eoin, Joe and Ellen made me feel very welcome in their beautiful home near Portnoo. Extra support provided also with transportation and sourcing of further accommodation.

Liam and Claire of the #NesbittArmsHotel Ardara had no hesitation in offering me a room in that fine hotel when I walked in off the street with nowhere to stay. A lovely town with helpful locals, Michael Molloy of #JohnMolloy knitwear went out of his way to get me back to the start of my trek into Glencolumbkille.

Noelle and Phaid Cunningham (thanks to Evelyn Kitterick, Noelle’s  sister for the contact) offered me a taste of Glencolumbkille life in their beautiful home. Made very welcome by their lovely daughters Abby, Molly and Kacey. Phaid sourced accommodation in Carrick for me, transported baggage and shared his local knowledge as he accompanied me on the walk up Slieve League.

I spent an entertaining Sunday evening in John The Miner’s Central Bar in Carrick. Accommodation provided by John above the bar and breakfast organised across the way in the #SlieveLeagueLodge.

The #TaraHotel in Killybegs provided very comfortable port-side accommodation in Killybegs. Much support with sourcing further accommodation and bag transportation from Erinn and Loretta at the desk.

The #MillParkHotel Donegal Town, manageress Paula and staff. Lovely spot. Ronan transported my bag to Rosnowlagh.

Paul Diver of the #SandhouseHotel Rossnowlagh, gave Noelle and myself a spacious room looking right over the fabulous beach at Rossnowlagh.

In Sligo we were fortunate to have the use of our neighbour Mary Carroll’s family home. Great base for the walk through north Sligo. Mary’s neighbour in Sligo, Christy McLoughlin, was very obliging and sourced accommodation for me in Inishcrone.

Darren of The #Beachbar and B&B, Aughris, Co Sligo, happily obliged when I turned up on his doorstep looking for a bed. Another great location.

Seamus and Dympna Egan, Inishcrone for generous hospitality and logistical support.

Gerry and Mary O’Connor, Ballina, Co Mayo for their great hospitality and much logistical support in north Mayo.

The #WesternStrandHotel, Belmullet – warm hospitality in a friendly place.

Evelyn Cosgrave, #Hillcrest B&B, Bangor Erris  for comfortable accommodation and logistical support.

Fiona and Seamus of #Cafferkey’sBar, Ballycroy gave me B & B and helped with bag transportation.

Bernadette of #MulrannyParkHotel gave me a great base for two nights in this beautiful hotel in a superb setting.

Teresa McGuire very kindly set me up with accommodation and food in centrally located #HotelWestport.

Seemed like the whole village of Louisburg were on my side when I needed them. Peter Sweeney gave me the use of the community owned #LouisburghHolidayCottages, The #CountryKitchen provided dinner and #Ruddy’s Cafe provided breakfast. Support also with bag transportation.

Lovely to stay with my ex- student Bernie Coyle, her husband Johnny and children Riona and Dara in their beautiful home in Tully, Connemara. Extra special support with transportation and baggage.

My colleague in Mary I gave Noelle and myself the keys to her and her husband David’s holiday home in Roundstone which proved a great base for my walks in that part of Connemara.

Michael Cloherty responded positively to my plea for accommodation in the Carna area by accommodating and feeding me in his super friendly #CarnaBayHotel.

My last stop away from home was with young couple Kevin and Aoife in their comfortable home in Casla, Carraroe, Co Mayo.

Sincere thanks to you all.

Marty.   CoastForCancer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

